Church Announces New First Presidency in Unprecedented Broadcast

Tuesday morning, Elder D. Todd Christofferson conducted a broadcast from the annex of the Salt Lake Temple introducing our new prophet, President Russell M. Nelson, as well as the new counselors in the First Presidency.

Of the responsibility of choosing these counselors, President Nelson said, "How can I choose only two of the 12 apostles, of whom I love so dearly?" But, he said He felt the hand of the Lord directing him in choosing his counselors in the First Presidency.

President Dallin H. Oaks was set apart as the first counselor and President Henry B. Eyring was set apart as the second counselor.

Of the process of setting apart a new prophet in the temple, Elder Christofferson said, "as a participant, I must say it was a sweet, sacred experience" one that testified this is the Lord's Church.

President M. Russell Ballard will now serve as the president of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com