Church Calls 9 New General Officers, Including New General YM Presidency

The First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced five new General Authorities, a new Young Men general presidency, a new counselor in the Primary general presidency and 53 Area Seventies, at the Saturday afternoon session of the Church’s 185th Annual General Conference being held here this weekend.

Called as General Authorities to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy are Elder Kim B. Clark, Rexburg, ID; Elder Allen D. Haynie, San Diego, CA; Elder Von G. Keetch, Salt Lake City, UT; Elder Hugo Montoya, Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico; and Elder Vern P. Stanfill, Kalispell, MT. 

Members of the Seventy have responsibility for administering the work of the Church throughout the world under the direction of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Some of them also have executive responsibilities in a number of Church departments. Members of the First Quorum of the Seventy usually serve to age seventy.

Called as members of the Young Men general presidency are Stephen W. Owen, president; Douglas D. Holmes, first counselor; and M. Joseph Brough, second counselor. Members of the Young Men general presidency, under the direction of the First Presidency, oversee the activities of young Mormon men ages 12 through 18.

A new counselor was called to the Primary general presidency to replace Sister Jean A. Stevens, who will serve with her husband in the England London Mission. Sister Rosemary M. Wixom will continue to serve as president, Sister Cheryl A. Esplin will serve as the first counselor and Sister Mary R. Durham has been called as second counselor.  

Read the rest of this story at newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org
Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com