First Presidency announces consolidation of South America areas

n a letter dated September 28, 2011, the First Presidency announced that the South America South Area and the Chile Area will be combined into one area—the South America South Area, headquartered in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Chile Area, which was created on August 15, 1996, following tremendous growth (26 stakes were created between 1994 and 1996), is headquartered in Santiago, Chile. Members of the Church in the nation—which number 563,689—recently celebrated the 50th anniversary of missionary work in Chile.

Aside from the addition of Chile, the South America South Area as it currently stands will remain unchanged. The other countries included in the area are Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

Read the rest of this story at news.lds.org
Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com