President Monson Reaches New Milestone; Only 4 Have Served Longer

by | Oct. 11, 2017

Mormon Life

We love our prophet and are grateful for the way he has dedicated his life to serving the Church.

President Thomas S. Monson was ordained an LDS apostle 54 years ago today, an anniversary that serves as a reminder of his place in church history.

Only four men have served longer as senior leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. All four also became prophet-presidents of the church, as President Monson, 90, did in February 2008.

President David O. McKay served for a total of more than 63 years in the Quorum of the Twelve and the First Presidency, President Heber J. Grant and President Joseph Fielding Smith for more than 62 years and President Wilford Woodruff for 59 years.

Lead image from Deseret News
Read the rest of this story at deseret.com
Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com