What's the Favorite LDS Temple of All Time?

by | Jul. 05, 2014


Announcing Mormons’ Favorite Temple: Salt Lake

 Salt Lake Temple wins it by 7% of the vote! Here’s the breakdown:

1. Salt Lake Temple (35%)

2. San Diego California Temple (28%)

3. Washington D.C. Temple (19%)

4. Nauvoo Illinois Temple (19%)

And it’s no surprise that this iconic temple has won the hearts of the Saints. Because of all the time and work the pioneers put into it, a healthy love for the Salt Lake Temple is instilled in many Mormons—no matter where they live. Here are some interesting things you may not have known about this beloved temple:

Read 40 more fun facts about Temple Square and its hidden gems!

- The pioneers spent 40 years building their beloved temple, while three other temples were finished and dedicated before the Salt Lake Temple was dedicated. 

-This temple was the first to have a standing angel Moroni on its spire. The angel stands 14 feet tall, with a steel rod extending down into the tower about 27 feet, where a 4,000 pound counterbalance keeps the statue standing strong against even the worst storms.

-The walls of the Salt Lake temple are nine feet thick at the base and six feet thick at the top.

-There is symbolism behind the strong use of squares and circles in the temple’s architecture: The circle is symbolic of endless eternal life and perfection, while the square represents the earth and earth life. Combined, they symbolize man’s progression from mortal imperfection towards immortal perfection.

-High on the west center tower is a depiction of the Big Dipper, a constellation used by travelers for thousands of years to find the North Star. It is an appropriate symbol for the temple where patrons come to get their bearings on the journey home.

-The three towers on the east side represent the First Presidency of the Church and the Melchizedek Priesthood; the twelve pinnacles rising from the towers represent the Twelve Apostles. 

-The three towers on the west side represent the Presiding Bishopric and the Aaronic Priesthood; the twelve pinnacles rising from the towers represent the High Council.

Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com