For the first time, Area Seventy releases are announced prior to general conference. See the full list

For the first time, the releases of Area Seventies (regional leaders) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints have been publicly announced prior to general conference, which is scheduled for October.

During the April 2021 general conference, 77 new Area Seventies were sustained in the leadership meetings, rather than during a general session of conference. In a similar manner, the practice of announcing releases of Area Seventies during conference is also being modified.

Area Seventies serve as “special witnesses” of Jesus Christ to the geographic areas in which they live around the world.

The following Area Seventies are released, effective August 1, 2021:

Third Quorum of the Seventy (Africa Central, Africa South, and Africa West Areas)

  •  Frederick O. Akinbo
  •  M. T. Ben Davis
  •  Jerat K. C. Igwe
  •  Christophe Kawaya
  •  John A. Koranteng

Fourth Quorum of the Seventy (Asia and Asia North Areas)

  •  Dong Chol Beh
  •  Ming-Shun Kuan
  •  Seiji Tokuzawa
  •  Robert K. William

Fifth Quorum of the Seventy (Brazil Area)

  •  Aroldo B. Cavalcante
  •  Carlos E. Perrotti

Sixth Quorum of the Seventy (Caribbean, Central America, and Mexico Areas)

  •  Luis J. Camey
  •  Luis C. Chaverri
  •  Ulises Chávez
  •  José A. Fernández
  •  Candido Fortuna
  •  Felix A. Martinez
  •  Helamán Montejo
  •  A. Moroni Pérez
  •  Rene Romay
  •  Luis G. Ruiz
  •  Jesús Vélez

Seventh Quorum of the Seventy (Europe, Europe East, and Middle East / Africa North Areas)

  •  Matthieu Bennasar
  •  Tom-Atle Herland

Eighth Quorum of the Seventy (Pacific and Philippines Areas)

  •  Richard C. Baquiran
  •  Daniel G. Hamilton
  •  Ryan V. Pagaduan
  •  Mark P. Peteru
  •  Maximo A. Saavedra Jr.
  •  Benjamin T. Sinjoux

Ninth Quorum of the Seventy (South America Northwest and South America South Areas)

  •  P. David Agazzani
  •  Quilmer A. Agüero
  •  Nelson Ardila
  •  Antonio F. Faúndez
  •  Matías D. Fernández
  •  Juan J. Levrino
  •  Carlo M. Lezano
  •  Pedro A. Sanhueza
  •  Daniel Texeira
  •  Luis G. Zapata

Tenth Quorum of the Seventy (North America Central, North America Northeast, and North America Southeast Areas)

  •  Douglas B. Carter
  •  M. Dirk Driscoll
  •  Michael A. Gillenwater
  •  Michael D. Groll
  •  J Vaun McArthur
  •  Thomas T. Priday
  •  Brian L. Rawson
  •  Paul H. Sinclair

Eleventh Quorum of the Seventy (North America Southwest and North America West Areas)

  •  Lawrence P. Blunck
  •  Marc C. Davis
  •  J. Scott Dorius
  •  Bruce E. Ghent
  •  Raymond S. Heyman
  •  Todd S. Larkin
  •  Kevin K. Miskin
  •  Michael R. Murray
  •  David L. Stapleton
  •  Maxsimo C. Torres
  •  Carlos Villarreal
  •  Paul H. Watkins
  •  C. Dale Willis

Twelfth Quorum of the Seventy (Utah Area)

  •  Brent J. Christensen
  •  Douglas L. Dance
  •  Blake M. Roney
  •  Eric J. Schmutz
  •  Kevin J Worthen
Press release originally published on Newsroom.
Featured image by Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News
Comments and feedback can be sent to feedback@ldsliving.com