From the Church

Pres. Nelson is breaking tradition by assigning more Apostles to dedicate temples. Here’s one reason why

Screen Shot 2021-11-22 at 10.40.37 AM.png
President Russell M. Nelson places mortar during the cornerstone ceremony for the dedication of the Rome Italy Temple.
Jeffrey D. Allred, Deseret News

The first 11 temples in this dispensation were dedicated over the course of 119 years and were dedicated by nine different Church leaders.

Deseret News recently pointed out that when Elder Gary E. Stevenson dedicates the Rio de Janeiro Brazil Temple next May, he will be the 10th Church leader to dedicate a temple during President Nelson’s four year administration, making President Nelson’s variety in temple dedication assignments unprecedented. The prophet himself has only dedicated two temples during his administration: Concepción, Chile, and Rome Italy; the other twelve temple dedications or rededications have been assigned to nine other members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles or First Presidency.

► You may also like: Temple stat not seen since 1898: Highest number of temples per Church member

In 2019, President Nelson compared his experience with assigning temple dedications to a family fishing trip. He said, ”Are you happy catching fish? Are you happier watching your children catch fish? I get more joy out of the fact Ulisses Soares dedicated the Fortaleza Temple than if I’d done it. I really do. I’m so happy he’s had that experience.”

Read the full story on Deseret News.

Stay in the loop!
Enter your email to receive updates on our LDS Living content