Which Latter-day Saint temples have nontraditional names?

Recently, the “temple built in the area north of Rexburg, Idaho” announced by President Russell M. Nelson was given its official name—the Teton River Idaho Temple.

The vast majority of temples today are named for the city, state, and/or country in which they are built, but that isn’t always the case and wasn’t always the case historically. So which Latter-day Saint temples don’t follow that naming convention? Here’s our master list.

Temples without a state or country included in the name

  • Salt Lake Temple

Temples named for region or local feature instead of a city

The Gila Valley Arizona Temple
Intellectual Reserve, Inc.

  • Feather River California Temple
  • Gila Valley Arizona Temple
  • Mount Timpanogos Utah Temple
  • Columbia River Washington Temple
  • Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple
  • Red Cliffs Utah Temple
  • Heber Valley Utah Temple
  • Star Valley Wyoming Temple
  • Willamette Valley Oregon Temple
  • Teton River Idaho Temple
  • Deseret Peak Utah Temple
  • Columbia River Washington Temple
  • Teton River Idaho Temple

Temples with a cardinal direction or specific area added to the name

The Provo City Center Temple
Intellectual Reserve, Inc.

  • Santiago Chile West Temple
  • Provo City Center Temple
  • Mexico City Benemérito Mexico Temple
  • Lima Peru Los Olivos Temple
  • São Paulo Brazil East Temple
  • Miraflores Guatemala City Guatemala Temple

No matter which temple you attend or what it may be called, the important thing is the sacred ordinances that take place within its walls and the connection with God you can feel when worshiping there.

► You may also like: Which Latter-day Saint temples are under construction around the world?

Stay in the loop!
Enter your email to receive updates on our LDS Living content