Get to Know the Church's 5 New General Authorities & 4 New Auxiliary Leaders

Church members sustained five new General Authorities and four new general auxiliary leaders during the Saturday afternoon session of the Church's 185th Annual General Conference on April 4.

Called as new General Authorities to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy are Elder Kim B. Clark, Rexburg, Idaho; Elder Allen D. Haynie, San Diego, California; Elder Von G. Keetch, Salt Lake City, Utah; Elder Hugo Montoya, Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico; and Elder Vern P. Stanfill, Kalispell, Montana.

Called as members of the Young Men general presidency are Brother Stephen W. Owen, president; Brother Douglas D. Holmes, first counselor; and Brother M. Joseph Brough, second counselor.

A new counselor was called to the Primary general presidency to replace Sister Jean A. Stevens, who will serve with her husband in the England London Mission. Sister Rosemary M. Wixom will continue to serve as president, Sister Cheryl A. Esplin, who previously served as second counselor, will serve as the first counselor, and Sister Mary R. Durham has been called as second counselor.

Following are brief biographies of the new leaders:

Elder Kim B. Clark of the Seventy

A lifetime of education — as a student and a teacher — will be of great benefit to Elder Kim Bryce Clark in his new assignment to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy. With his new calling announced on April 4 in general conference, Elder Clark will begin his service just weeks after he finishes his assignment as president of BYU-Idaho.

“I have been in school since I was five years old,” the newly called Seventy said. “I love learning and teaching.”

Read the rest of this story at
Comments and feedback can be sent to