From the Church

Church Announces Changes in the Presidency of the Seventy


Following a rather eventful conference weekend with three new apostles being called to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, leadership changes continue to occur within the Church.

What the 3 New Apostles Said About Being Called to the Quorum of the Twelve

On Tuesday, October 6, the Church announced that changes would be made to the Presidency of the Seventy. Elder L. Whitney Clayton will serve as the senior president of the Quorums of the Seventy, succeeding Elder Ronald A. Rasband who was called as an apostle to the Quorum of the Twelve.

The Church has seven presidents of the Seventy, and to fill the vacancy left by Elder Rasband and Elder Clayton's new callings, Elder Gerrit W. Gong was called to serve as a member of the Presidency of the Seventy.

Elder L. Whitney Clayton

Elder Clayton has been a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy since March 31, 2001. He has served as a member of the Presidency of the Seventy since 2008 and had supervisory responsibility for the Utah North, Utah Salt Lake City and Utah South Areas. He assisted Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in supervising the Africa Southeast and Africa West Areas. He also serves as a member of the Public Affairs Committee.

Learn more about Elder Clayton here.

Elder Gerrit W. Gong

Until the time of this call, Elder Gong served as president of the Church’s Asia Area. In terms of geography, population, languages spoken and religious diversity, the Asia Area is the largest in the Church.

Elder Gong will continue to serve in Asia for a short time as his responsibilities are transferred.

Learn more about Elder Gong here.

Lead image and above bios from Mormon Newsroom.
Stay in the loop!
Enter your email to receive updates on our LDS Living content