Quiz: What do the Apostles’ and First Presidency’s initials stand for?

The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, October 2015.
© 2015 by Intellectual Reserve, Inc. All rights reserved.

Latter-day Saints are accustomed to hearing General Authorities referred to with their middle initials. This quick quiz will test your knowledge of the names behind the initials of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

And if you want to know a little history behind when and why we started referring to Church leaders with their initials, check out this article: When and why did we start using middle initials in Church leaders’ names?

Look over these names and initials, and then scroll down to see each leader’s full name:

Names with Initials
  • Russell M. Nelson
  • Dallin H. Oaks
  • Henry B. Eyring
  • M. Russell Ballard
  • Jeffrey R. Holland
  • Dieter F. Uchtdorf
  • David A. Bednar
  • Quentin L. Cook
  • D. Todd Christofferson
  • Neil L. Andersen
  • Ronald A. Rasband
  • Gary E. Stevenson
  • Dale G. Renlund
  • Gerrit W. Gong
  • Ulisses Soares

Full Names
  • Russell Marion Nelson
  • Dallin Harris Oaks
  • Henry Bennion Eyring
  • Melvin Russell Ballard
  • Jeffrey Roy Holland
  • Dieter Friedrich Uchtdorf
  • David Allan Bednar
  • Quentin LaMar Cook
  • David Todd Christofferson
  • Neil Linden Andersen
  • Ronald Anderson Rasband
  • Gary Evan Stevenson
  • Dale Gunnar Renlund
  • Gerrit Walter Gong
  • Ulisses Soares

▶ You may also like: When and why did we start using middle initials in Church leaders’ names?

Pre-order the April 2023 General Conference Addresses, Journal Edition

Begins shipping in May 2023

The General Conference Addresses Journal Edition will have all the text of the April 2023 general conference addresses in one spiral-bound paperback. Extra-wide, lined margins give you space to record your impressions and to document the insights you receive. Create an enduring record to make the inspired teachings of general conference an ongoing part of your gospel learning.

You may also like

October 09, 2023 07:00 AM MDT
In his five years as Church president, President Russell M. Nelson has announced 153 new temple locations.
7 Min Read
“I think that you’re a great people. Making friends with you is very easy,” said the Ga Mantse.
1 Min Read
April 07, 2023 09:33 AM MDT
The Church released the 2022 statistical report during the Saturday afternoon session of general conference.
1 Min Read

Stay in the loop!
Enter your email to receive updates on our LDS Living content